Thread: Goaltending???
View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 06:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
How does the entire comment for 10.3.4 read and how does 10-3-6 read?
Here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10.3.4
The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the board while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6.
Rule 10-3-6 doesn't even address the backboard, this is included in the "not limited to" portion of 10-3-6.

In practice, I can't imagine any time a player would slap the backboard without a try involved that wouldn't be ruled a technical foul. It's either an attempt to draw attention, or vent frustration. That doesn't mean it couldn't happen (never say never or always), I just can't imagine it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote