View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 02:52pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by doubleringer View Post
Since we are on the topic of the throw in. Last night my high school season began (so we are NFHS rules here). During the loooonnnnngggggg JV/V girls double header, we had a throw in after a made basket (Team A). There was a held ball on the throw in, A retains possession. Do the retain the right to run the baseline? It led to a good conversation, but unfortunately the JV game took 2 hours (and we left fouls out there) so we didn't get in to the books in post-game.
Nope. You only retain the right if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul and the ensuing throw-in was still on the end line. A held-ball is neither a violation or common foul.

NFHS rule 7-5-7(b)
Reply With Quote