View Single Post
Old Sat Nov 20, 2010, 03:17am
Official Forum Member

Table Reporting question/First game report

I am just getting into basketball officiating after a long stint in baseball. When you guys report to the table, do you use the same hand (either right or left for numbers) all the time, or do you switch based on where in the reporting area you are reporting from?

BTW, had first game last week. 8th Grade G/B. Both games went pretty smooth. Had one call I think I blew in retrospect. Player catches outlet pass and is turning up the floor and dribbles extremely hard. The player misses the dribble on it's way up and it goes at least 6 feet over his head. He takes about 3 steps running under it and catches the dribble at a stop. It just looked so wrong that I blew the whistle instincively and signaled a traveling violation. After I made the call (nobody complained), I thought more about this play and think I missed on this one. Can anyone enlighten me on this? Would this be covered by the wording that I read which stated in essence, cannot travel during a dribble?