Thread: wingspan
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2003, 03:05pm
RecRef RecRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Re: clarification

Quote:
Originally posted by Troward
this scenario is occuring durring the inbounds play, while the thrower in is attempting to get the ball to the PG. The PG does not have the ball yet so I don't think we apply the concepts of hand checking or riding the dribbler, right?
Frank is in the wrong. You can not use your arms like this to block an opponent.

And the down side in this is your following statement," Towards the end the PG was frustrated and pushed this kids arms down to get free which obviously is a foul on him, but his team was getting blown out and it didn't seem appropriate that they were still be pressing."

You allowed the situation to run out of control until the PG had to resort to a violent move to clear the arms. Lucky for you that this was not a varsity game or there could have been flying fist.

And yes, you can have a hand check/push on a player without the ball. Please take the time to read the casebook and the POE on rough play in the rules book.
Reply With Quote