View Single Post
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2010, 03:13pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
It is a matter of semantics, snaqs. No change in team control occurred with Bs touch.
.
Irrelevant...loss of team control is not necessary for A to retrieve the ball in the BC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
It is absurd that a bounce in the BC makes the difference in there being a violation or no violation.
.
Agree...and that is why it should NOT be a violation when B was the last to touch the ball before the ball goes into the backcourt (whether it bounces or not before A touches.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
And B's touch did not result in the ball gaining BC status. A's touch while standing in the BC did.
.
Agree.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
A similar type of play is when during a 10 second count, A1 passes the ball to the FC, but before it is touched in the FC, the 10 seconds are reached and a violation occurs. Both plays can be determined under the rule fundamental.
It doesn't have to be touched in the frontcourt to end the count...the count can also end if the ball merely bounces in the FC.

However, this is also not relevent. The 10 second count is about the status of the ball...nothing more. The BC violation is about who touched the ball before and after the change in status of the ball from FC to BC.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote