Quote:
Originally Posted by centkyref
(After an intentional foul...)
Kid from Texas goes to the line and makes 'em both. [Wrong shooter....POINT OF ERROR]
Texas inbounds from the endline [BALL LIVE, CLOCK STARTS]
and scores. [BALL DEAD]
Tech inbounds the ball[BALL LIVE],
the guard gets about twenty feet up the floor. TWEET! [TOO LATE]
Two of the refs get together and its obvious: Houston we have a problem. The wrong guy from Texas shot the free throws. Correctable error. The refs handled it correctly; got the right shooter on the line & resumed POI.
The guys behind the mics were completely lost
....
I'm thinking about contacting ESPN to see if I could do a little rules seminar for their on-air guys (for a low-low fee, of course)
|
You might want to have someone else do it. If the play occurred as you described it, the refs blew it.
At the point where the event in blue occurs (specifically, the moment the ball became live for the throwin), the error is no longer correctable.