View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2003, 05:14am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Here's where oft-quoted Casebook play 4.25.2 does give you some guidance,I think.In (a),the shooter is prevented from releasing the ball and you have a held ball as soon as he returns to the floor.
ARRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! This is so frustrating.
This is exactly what I have been trying to tell you for two full pages, JR.

You have a misunderstanding of when a held ball occurs in this case.

In the quote above you have incorrectly written that we "have a held ball as soon as he returns to the floor." To make it even more aggravating, you even quote casebook play 4.25.2, which says very clearly that the held ball results immediately when airborne A1 is prevented from releasing the ball, and then go on to make this contrary statement!
According to the casebook, not just me, this held ball occurs way before A1 returns to the floor. It is right there in black and white. You now have to concede that the held ball call should be immediate, as the case book says, and not when the player returns to the floor.

Just another ref,
I would call the play you described a held ball immediately when the try was prevented. I would not wait for the player to return to the floor as JR advocates, and therefore, the contact after the held ball would be ignored.
Reply With Quote