View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 02, 2010, 07:49pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsmaniac432 View Post
Team A has the ball down 6 with 1:00 to go in 4th quarter. It is 4th and 10 from their own 5 yard line. QB is in endzone when he realizes that he is going to be sacked and throws it away. Intentional grounding is called resulting in a safety, Team A then proceeds to kick onside kick. Now the question. Is this a declinable penalty in which Team B takes over at the original LOS and kneels down to end the game without the added suspense of a onside?
CANADIAN RULING:

Of course B can decline the penalty and take the result of the play - which is an incomplete pass, and therefore a turnover on downs: Team B 1D/G @ A-5
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote