View Single Post
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 21, 2003, 02:28pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Rule 5-2-1 tells us when a first down is awarded and that is only after considering any act during the down and any dead ball foul. Seems they were only thinking about B fouls and not A DB fouls. Just because they get a first down during the play doesn't mean they automatically get a first and 10.

1/10 Team A's ball on the A-20. A32 runs for 15 to the A-35. A78 is called for holding at the A-36. Down and distance after the penalty? 2 and 5 at the A-25, right?

The rule says we don't award a new series until we consider the hold (or action during the down).

Same situation, except instead of holding, we have a DB personal foul.

The rule again seems to say we don't award a new series until we consider the dead ball foul.

See my confusion here? The rule seems to indicate that dead ball fouls are to be treated BEFORE the awarding of a first down when in fact, they are treated AFTER awarding the first down but before the line to gain is established.

I'm trying to explain WHAT I read in this rule. I'm not trying to be difficult.












__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote