Thread: grounded punt
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 27, 2010, 08:08am
phansen phansen is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 125
grounded punt

NFHS

K1 punts the ball into a heavy wind. It is grounded, untouched by K or R beyond the line of scrimmage and rebounds behind the line of scrimmage. It has been my contention that this ball can be recovered and advanced by either team according to casebook 6.2.3 situation A. Comment.
A fellow official argued that is only the case if it is muffed by R as it says in 6.2.3 A.
Which is correct? other rules reference always appreciated.
Reply With Quote