Thanks Ed and everyone else. I started in 1998 so I was unaware of the actual change to the wording.
There is also a fundamental that states the action during the down must occur during a live ball. I am now back in the 1/10 instead of the 2/5 camp.
I apologize for being so confused. For some reason I was thinking the dead ball personal fouls were somehow enforced differently than dead ball UC fouls. They aren't enforced differently and the casebook clearly gives an example of a UC foul after the line to gain has been reached.
I'm a little embarrassed about my difficulty understanding this rule.
Is there any way to encourage the NF to clean up the wording?
[Edited by mikesears on Jan 21st, 2003 at 06:24 AM]
__________________
Mike Sears
|