View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 21, 2003, 04:24am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
That Case Book play uses the words, "touches the ball." I understand this to be different from contacting the ball in a forceful manner such that it prevents the release of a pass or a try.

4-25-2 A held ball occurs when an opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try for goal.

Do you now see how these rules would provide conflicting calls, if you considered the touch of the ball in 4.43.3A to be just the same as the contact with the ball that prevents the release in 4-25-2? It seems that an official must make the difficult judgment as to what contact prevents the release of a ball and what touch does not.
Difficult judgement? Nope! Probably one of the easier calls to make. If an airborne player passes or shoots the ball,you CANNOT say that that player has been PREVENTED from passing or shooting the ball.You,therefore,can't call them for a held ball,by the rule that you quoted above.It's that simple,Nevada.
Reply With Quote