
Wed Oct 20, 2010, 03:23pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay R
With FIBA's new backcourt and frontcourt status, I have a question.
The new rule says that FC status is only achieved when both feet and the ball are in the FC. What about the status of the official?
A5 (in the BC) passes to A4 who is stradling the division line (no FC status yet). A4 passes the ball which deflects off the official who is straddling the division line and the ball is picked by A3 in the BC.
Over and back? Did the official have BC or FC status? Until this year, this would have been over and back for sure. I'm not certain now.
|
Quote:
28.1.2 The team has caused the ball to go into its frontcourt whenever:
• The ball, not in control of any player, touches the frontcourt,
• The ball touches or is legally touched by an offensive player who has both feet in contact with his frontcourt,
• The ball touches or is legally touched by a defensive player who has part of his body in contact with his backcourt,
• The ball touches an official who has part of his body in contact with the frontcourt of the team in control of the ball.
• During a dribble from the backcourt to the frontcourt, both feet of the dribbler and the ball are in contact with the frontcourt.
|
Put this together with the rule mentioned by Ref_in_Alberta and the result is that it's a backcourt violation.
Ciao
|