| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Muffed punt and second kick
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			Thought I had seen this posted on a message board, but cannot find it. What would you have here? I think it is R's ball where K falls on the second punt. Also, please list a rule reference, as that is what I am unable to find to support my answer. 
 
Play: 4th and 10 from the K20 yard line. K's scrimmage 
kick is short and is muffed in flight by R at the K30 
yard line and bounces back to the K15 yard line where 
the punter picks up the ball again and kicks a second 
scrimmage kick from behind the neutral zone. The second 
kick goes about 35 yards where there is no longer an R 
player to receive a kick. The ball is recovered by K at 
midfield. 
 
Ruling?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |