A fellow official who I respect a lot has voiced the opinion that allowing the catch in this situation is analogous to missing a travel. They just missed the call, so it's not correctable.
I don't think I agree with that, because the travel is a judgment about where the ball was caught, or which foot is the pivot. In the NFHS interp, there is no judgment. Everyone agrees the ball was caught and everyone agrees that the clock showed .3 seconds.
So I disagree, but at least there is one voice out there who doesn't think the ruling is completely wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The example of the FTs is not relevant because the FTs are merited regardless of the time showing on the clock.
|
I think the example is relevant. It's exactly the same. The
rule was set aside incorrectly. In one case, a penalty was not assessed; in the other, a goal was incorrectly counted.