View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2010, 05:51am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbarney View Post
Got a situation that we are currently discussing in the association, so I wanted to get your guys take on what the correct call is.

Here is the situation:

Team A has the ball on the endline under Team B's basket after a made three pointer by Team B. A1 (the player with the ball on the endline) throws a baseball pass to A2 who is in A's frontcourt. Instead of catching the ball, A2 muffs the pass. The ball bounces three times in the frontcourt (without being touched after the initial muff) and rolls into the backcourt where a Team A player is the first to pick it up. Has a backcourt violation occurred? Just interested to hear rules interpretations on this scenario. Thanks guys and gals!!!
Not to sound harsh(no, not me, never, nosir), but has anybody in your association ever read the case book? NFHS case book play 4.12.6(b) has been in the book a long time.
Reply With Quote