Thread: Oob ?
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 09:35pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Camron, I have great confidence in your, and most experienced posters, rules knowledge. But I have been getting my chops busted all day by JR and a few others about "Rules Rulz" (I think thats it)
Ah, time for some more chop-busting......

The RULING in red that you say is conflicting states that "In (b), the ball remains live if it touches the side edge or the top if it REBOUNDS and comes back down in front of the backboard.." In your sitch with the ball thrown from the back, did the ball "REBOUND"? Nope! It went over the board. the key word is "REBOUND". The ball can only REBOUND and come down in the front if it was thrown from the front or side originally. If it was thrown from the back, any REBOUND could only come down in the back. Simple physics. Iow, that sentence isn't applicable to the situation that you're describing.

What is applicable is the second part of the ruling that states "The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane."

Rules rulz...and you're reading too much into them and making them a heckuva lot more complicated than they are.
Reply With Quote