Thread: Time out
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 12, 2010, 03:14pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
5.8.3E(b) . . . the official stops play believing the coach requested a time out. Ruling: . . . Team A was not requesting a time-out and therefore should not be granted or charged with one.

This case tells us that we should not grant and charge a time-out if the coach was not requesting one.
Of course, I could be wrong.
And you are wrong.

Apples and oranges. In the case play, the coach wasn't calling a TO. In the original post, he was calling one(albeit wrongly).

In the original post, the official said that not only did the coach make a TO request, he also said the coach made the TO signal. It's a real reach imo to try and say that he made a mistake when he did both. If that ain't a TO request, I don't know what is. And if he doesn't know that he can't call timeouts for sometime in the future, well, it's about time he learned

It's a matter of education. Coaches have to learn that they must signal properly(either verbally or by sign) and they we don't take appointments for future timeouts either.

Rules rulz!
Reply With Quote