Thread: Loss of Arrow
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 09, 2010, 12:37pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,326
This Should End Any Further Discussion ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbarney View Post
Team A has the ball out of bounds for an alternate-possession throw-in. Upon throwing the ball in, Team B is called for a kicked ball violation. The ball is given back to Team A to complete another throw-in. Does Team B lose the alternating possession arrow due to the violation? In other words, after Team A successfully inbounds the ball, does the arrow stay with Team A?
*4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in.
A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking
violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to
where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession
throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and
therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession
throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession
throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered.
When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking
violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Oct 09, 2010 at 12:50pm.
Reply With Quote