View Single Post
  #97 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 04:54pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCAAREF View Post
I'm not saying that I think I know more then you or other D1 officials......I follow the rules they way they are written but I don't have to agree with them. My point is and please expound and explain to me how this can be......how can you have a charge and a block at the same time? It is by the rules impossible yet a rule existe to address just that? How can a defender be at a spot yet not be at a spot? How can a ball handler beat a defender to a spot yet not beat a defender to a spot? In my humble opinion the blarge is there to bail out officials because as you seem to believe a D1 officail can't be wrong. Hmmm...I feel so much better about myself now.
We've had this discussion many times; you might try a search to find them.

I don't anyone really agrees that both fouls can actually happen at the same time. You're correct that is there no rule basis for it. It's just that when the two officials do not follow the proper mechanics, and both come out with different preliminary signals on that play, the NFHS and NCAA-M rules committees both decided that in order to make it look like one official isn't "overruling" another, both fouls will have to be reported. It's a way to diffuse a potentially difficult situation by simply charging both fouls, rather than trying to address which call was right, and why you called it against one but taking away the other.

Of course, the easy way to prevent this from ever happening is to follow the correct mechanics and allow the official whose call it is to be the only one to give a preliminary signal and report it to the table.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote