View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 11:15am
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Game ending play

The six run league rule thread got me thinking about something I'm not quite sure I know the right answer to.

No outs, bottom nine tie game bases loaded. Sac fly scores the winning run but the runner left early. The entire team mobs the guy who hit the sac fly at the plate. Defense wants to appeal leaving early. We now have two outs and the runners from 1st and 2nd standing around home plate. Is the ball dead? If so by what rule? If it's live, could the defense play on the runners before making the appeal? Common sense says call time and put everyone back on base but does the rule book support that?
________
Water Bong

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:36pm.
Reply With Quote