Thread: Bunt Attempt
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2010, 12:47pm
yawetag yawetag is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Unless I'm missing it, the rules book (despite a rules citation in the casebook) does not directly address this. However, the last part of 7.2.1 Situation B of the 2010 casebook states,
"...In bunting, any movement of the bat toward the ball when the ball is over or near the plate area, is a strike. The mere holding of the bat in the strike zone is not an attempt to bunt. (10-1-4a)"

If it happened as you stated, you may have a point. However, in the end it does come down to umpire judgement.
The rules don't have it, but you posted the rule that has it. Interesting oxymoron.
Reply With Quote