You, as coach, had done EXACTLY what you needed to do in order to determine if you had a valid protest ... clarifying what PU/BU were ruling, and not telling them they were wrong ... right up until you said, "Simply not pulling your bat back is not offering at the pitch." At that moment, instead, you should have protested his misapplication of the rules. BY RULE, he was wrong.
I would have shut you down at the same moment he did. Clarify all you want - once you cross into telling the U the rules, the conversation is over. Don't do that. If a U has the RULE wrong (and not judgement), protest.
But you would have won any protest.
And I agree that the umps didn't have any clue what they were doing if they had both umpires talking to you at the same time.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”
West Houston Mike
|