Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
In this play, it is clear that B1 prevented A1 from releasing a try, but A1 was able to eventually get off a pass before returning to the floor. Big Joe would call a held ball on this play according to 4-25-2. Would you do the same or let play continue? Does it matter to you that A1 passed the ball from his hip instead of shot it as in the previous play I provided?
Basically, I am wondering if the first attempt for a try is prevented at time X, do we allow the player a second attempt to release the ball on a try or a pass at time Y (provided he has not returned to the floor), or do we call a held ball immediately at time X?
|
In the play above,B1 did NOT prevent A1 from the act of shooting or passing while A1 was airborne.Because of that fact,Rule 4-25-2 CANNOT be applicable in that case.The language in Casebook play 4.43.3SitA(b) fully supports that-i.e. "since the touching did not prevent the pass or try...,the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation". That means that you got nothing to call on this play because A1 fulfilled one of the two requirements(pass or shot) and didn't come down with the ball.