Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue
I agree. IFP. Does the facemask foul get neglected?
What if B55 had dropped the ball right at his feet after crossing the goal line. How we have a fumble. How does that change the ruling?
Here's how the actual situation was ruled in the game. Safety for A. 15 yards enforced on the ensuing free kick. B kicks from their own 35-yard line.
|
Well ... if R had blown his whistle when he was supposed to, we probably don't have the 15 yarder, but I guess we have to deal with it anyway as there is no "Inadvertant Forgot To Blow The Whistle". (And to those, who like me regularly say, the whistle doesn't kill the play; the play kills the play... I think that in a case like this where it's NOT obvious that the play is over (heck even the R didn't realize it), you do need a whistle and need to be a little lenient on that after-the-play late hit (we probably had several... just didn't know it.)
There's 2 ways to look at this. I probably would have not gone the route you went. Since you didn't blow it dead, and have what seems to be a LIVE ball foul for the facemask - you have offsetting live ball fouls (the illegal forward pass and the facemask) after a turnover. Hope someone way back where still has their bag on the ground.
If you treat the FM as a dead ball personal foul after the play (a bit of a stretch to me since you didn't flag all the other action after the play ended), then you can have the safety and then the free kick from the 35 as described.