View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 24, 2010, 07:10am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
Thanks for your comments men...

This could be one of those situations where the "Shift" is on and F4 is several feet into the outfield. A texas leaguer is hit into shallow right field behind him but he is able to get it on a hop and attempt the throw to 1st. So, for all intents and purposes in this situation, F4 shall always be regarded as an infielder no matter if he is fielding the ball several feet into the outfield...
In the "reverse" situation where the team brings in one of the outfielders to cut off a run at the plate, you could have 5 infielders to whom the rule applies.
Reply With Quote