View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 08:43pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboys View Post
I'm a bit confused on this rule.

On 2nd and 10 A runs the ball for five yards. The clock is obviously running. On the next play, A throws an incomplete pass, there is a holding penalty called on A. B accepts the penalty.

Does the clock start on the snap because the play in which there was a penalty stopped the clock, or does it start on the ready for play because the clock was running before the play that included the penalty?
What happened to end the last play determines when the clock starts.

The penalty is of no consequence.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote