View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 21, 2010, 04:07pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboys View Post
I'm a bit confused on this rule.

On 2nd and 10 A runs the ball for five yards. The clock is obviously running. On the next play, A throws an incomplete pass, there is a holding penalty called on A. B accepts the penalty.

Does the clock start on the snap because the play in which there was a penalty stopped the clock, or does it start on the ready for play because the clock was running before the play that included the penalty?
Which day of the week is it?

Seriously - this may be different depending on whether it's FED, NCAA, or NFL (or CFL - JR!).

NCAA: Starts on the snap because the play in which there was a penalty stopped the clock. I BELIEVE (but won't vouch 100%) Fed is the same.

I also believe NFL is different depending on the time of the game, but am not positive of that.

I do not think the status of the clock on the previous play is part of your decision making process in ANY code.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote