View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 18, 2010, 05:52am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Let me preface this with the fact that I didn't hear this comment. I was only told this comment was made to a coach.

Play: Long run to the EZ. 20 or so yards behind the play there are some peelback blocks that are made when the runner is inside the 10. Flag is thrown. Supposedly the coach was told that it was due to the block being "unnecessary."

Would this fall under "unsportsmanlike?"
CANADIAN RULING:

Players 20 and more yards behind the play when the ball is inside the 10 on an impending TD are 99% of the time out of the play. In these cases, hitting them as described is unnecessary. It's a UR foul, enforced 15 yards from PBH (where the ball was when the foul happened and assuming yards were gained) and no score. (If yards were not yet gained, enforce the 15 yards from PLS.)
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote