Thread: Double Dribble
View Single Post
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 18, 2003, 12:19pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref

[/B]
Camron,
You have made a great point. In fact, you have made my original point, which was simply to show that when a ball hits a player (or in the instance that you point out the backboard) it is NOT that same as that ball actually hitting the floor. It is only to be treated as hitting the floor at that location if we have to make a judgment on the ball's location.[/B][/QUOTE]Geeze,I hope that this doesn't start another week of posts,Nevada,but ya still got 'er wrong. The 3-point shot hitting B1 on the head in the key is EXACTLY THE SAME as hitting the floor at that location in the key-explicitly by Rule 4-4-4.That now ends the 3-point try under Rule 4-40-4.We NOW use that location to determine what happens next.That's why,if the ball now rebounds in,it's only worth 2 points,as per Rule 5-2-1. The ball touching the board in R4-4-5 DOESN'T end a try(whether it's 2 points or 3 points),so R4-40-4 is NOT applicable in that case.
Reply With Quote