Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
 May I point out that 10.3.C states that "the plate umpire may rectify any situation in which the reversal or an umpire's decision or a delayed call by an umpire places a batter-runner, a runner or the defensive team in jeopardy. This correction is not possible after one pitch legal or illegal or after the pitcher....yada, yada, yada".
Could it not be said that the umpire's failure to award 1st (here comes that preventive umpiring thing again) to the batter qualifies here?
After all, if the defense got the batter out, do you think they would have said, "I'm sorry, Mr. Umpire, but you cannot award us that out since the player in jeopardy actually received a fourth ball on the previous pitch and should be returned to active participation on first base"?
What if there were two pitches, does that make a difference? What if they missed a strike instead of a ball and the batter hit into a double play? Can the offense then claim that the batter was actually out on the previous pitch to nullify the defense's effort in retiring two for the price of one?
|
In my mind, when this sequence unfolds, 10.3 doesn't apply; the umpire is not reversing a call, nor making one late. The umpire does not award the batter 1st base on ball 4; the rule 8-1.C states the batter is awarded 1st base. We are specifically directed NOT to point to 1st base on a walk, nor to point to the dugout on strike 3; the batter is expected to KNOW what direction to go in when these situations occur.
So, the umpire is not changing a call, nor has the umpire delayed in making one, as none was mandated beyond "Ball". Yep, umpire should stand out from behind the catcher knowing it is ball 4, and should even repeat "That's ball 4"; again, preventative officiating. But B2 is now batting in B3's spot in the order, since B2's at bat is officially over; whether declared, base pointed to, explained consciously, or not. I submit we must rule on that when the BOO appeal is made.
If B2 was struck out on the previous pitch (and this is definitively determined by the umpires), then nothing has substantially changed. B2 is out, and the at-bat has ended, and B2 is still batting out of order. All play by B2 batting out of order is nullified, B2 was already out, and B3 is out for BOO. B4 bats next with 2 outs (or first next inning.
If B2 hits into an out or a double play, the only team with the option to appeal BOO is the defense. If they don't appeal, you make no ruling. Once B3 follows and takes a next pitch, there can be no BOO appeal. The offense has no appeal, and, as you noted, cannot ask for a correction of the situation (one they caused) after a following pitch.