
Tue Sep 14, 2010, 11:01am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
 May I point out that 10.3.C states that "the plate umpire may rectify any situation in which the reversal or an umpire's decision or a delayed call by an umpire places a batter-runner, a runner or the defensive team in jeopardy. This correction is not possible after one pitch legal or illegal or after the pitcher....yada, yada, yada".
Could it not be said that the umpire's failure to award 1st (here comes that preventive umpiring thing again) to the batter qualifies here?
After all, if the defense got the batter out, do you think they would have said, "I'm sorry, Mr. Umpire, but you cannot award us that out since the player in jeopardy actually received a fourth ball on the previous pitch and should be returned to active participation on first base"?
What if there were two pitches, does that make a difference? What if they missed a strike instead of a ball and the batter hit into a double play? Can the offense then claim that the batter was actually out on the previous pitch to nullify the defense's effort in retiring two for the price of one?
|
Yes, it definitely could be said that and if another pitch had not been thrown then you should correct it. But once another pitch is thrown how can you ignore the "it's too late" language.
________
MEDICAL MAIJUANA DISPENSERIES MAP OF COLORADO
Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:32pm.
|