Not.
The offense is responsible to know the situation, even if the umpires do not make it an issue. After ball 4, that batter became a batter-runner, and thes at-bat had ended. At the next pitch, it was the wrong batter, therefore batting out of order.
Play is nullified, R1 returns to 2nd. B2's hit is nullified; B3 is out because B2 batted in that spot in the batting order.
Tricky part is what to do with B2. There is no clear rule that makes B2 out, as 8-2.D requires the BR to enter the team area to be considered abandoning the effort to advance. But, I cannot see sending B2 to 1st now, when B2 batted out of order and caused B3 to be out. And, since we know the scorebook must "balance" (unless an unreported BOA occurs), we cannot simply skip B2 without an out or placing on a base.
So, without an true rule support other than 10.1 (ruling on a play not specifically covered), my opinion is to "enhance" 8-2.D and declare B2 out for failing to take the awarded base. Two outs, and R1 back on 2nd.
Even if you choose another option for B2 under 10.1 (as you are justified in doing), you cannot ignore that B2 batted in B3's spot, and the BOA rule must be enforced.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
|