Thread: Help with 7-1-1
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2010, 06:22am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,386
Officials Are People Too ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Remember, for the purpose of this rule, the game officials are considered objects.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I disagree. Game officials are persons and may be inadvertently touched while OOB without causing the player's status to become OOB.
7.1.1 SITUATION A: A1, while holding the ball inbounds near the sideline,
touches (a) player B1; (b) a photographer; (c) a coach; (d) an official, all of whom
are out of bounds. RULING: A1 is not out of bounds in (a), (b), (c) or (d). To be
out of bounds, A1 must touch the floor or some object on or outside a boundary
line. People are not considered to be objects and play continues. Inadvertently
touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not
considered a violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote