View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 11, 2010, 08:44am
LIUmp LIUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Obstruction? or out?

ASA rules, though I think this applies to any ruleset.

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st. Ground ball to F5 about 5 feet fair. Easy force play for F5. As F5 makes first step toward 3B, R1 and F6:

a. "bump" - inadvertently.
b. do a shuffle step to avoid each other
c. R1 pauses for a second to move around F6.

In all situations, F6 and R1 were about three steps from 2nd. IOW, R1 would never have made it to 3B safely.


I know what the rule for obstruction states, and I know that intent can NOT be judged. I also know it is a HTBT moment. Your call?

No, the F6 did NOT move into the path of the runner.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote