Thread: Horsecollar
View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 02:45pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I got what you said the first time. But I would be trying to not call this if another player made contact with the runner (opponent).
Exactly. Too much is being read into the 9.4.3M.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Oh, one more thing: The rule and case plays also say nothing about which direction the runner is pulled down. It's only relevant in NFHS rules where the hand is, not the direction of the tackle. This was mentioned in our state meeting as a common misconception of this rule and the rules committee was mentioned as a source. I'm sure other states have communicated differently.
Rich, I'd suggest you read 9.4.3L and 9.4.3N. Both plays state it is not a horse collar foul if the runner is pulled down forward, no matter where the hand is inserted in the collar.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Sep 10, 2010 at 10:29pm.
Reply With Quote