Thread: Interference
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 03:41pm
Andy Andy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally posted by oppool
"Sit#2 BUT under some circumstances I believing not moving maybe ruled intentional. This would be a judgement call by the ump."


That would fly in the face of all the official rulings I've seen on interference by a batter. In fact, it would be a direct contradiction of several.


For all of you who have disagreed with this statement


NFSH Rule 7-3 art 5 "By failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate congested area when there is a throw at home and there is time for the batter to move away"

ASA POE 31 B. "The batter's box is not a sactuary for the batter when a play is being made at the plate"

I believe both of these rules cover a batter not moving in the batters box being called for interference.

JMO

Don

[Edited by oppool on Jan 17th, 2003 at 02:03 PM]
Both of the rules cited apply to a batter when a play is being made at the plate. The recent discussion is regarding the batter when a throw is being made by a catcher to another base. I don't think the citings above would apply
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote