View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 07:05pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote