View Single Post
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 04:33pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I disagree with this. The ball can be at a player's disposal long before the official starts the count. When the ball clears the net after a goal, and a player from the throw-in team catches it, the ball is obviously at his disposal. He's holding it, so it's obviously available to him to begin the throw-in process. This is true even though the official usually doesn't start the throw-in count until the player is out of bounds.
Disposal implies that the player is in a location or could/should have been in a location to execute a legal throwin. Due to the ball deflecting off someone, the player may catch the ball 20ft. from the endline and would not be in a location where they could immediately execute a throw-in. The ball is not at their disposal in this case. The ball would not be live and the count would not start.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
The point of the clarification is that the non-throw-in team can be granted a time-out request after a basket even if the throw-in team player is holding the ball (ball is available to him), because the ball doesn't become live until it is available AND the official starts the count.
The count starts simultaneous with disposal and live ball...always has....and that is when the player is (or could have been) in a position with the ball to make a throwin.

That is the whole point of the CLARIFICATION. Nothing changed, just that many misunderstood and were misapplying the rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
There had been some very technical debates about whether we should grant a time-out request from the scoring team in late game situations when the ball falls through the basket and into the hands of a player from the throw-in team. Technically by the old rule, we should NOT grant the time-out in that situation, because the ball became live as soon as it was at that team's disposal. But most of us DID grant those requests anyway. So the clarification was made to bring the rules in line with practice.
Incorrect. Nothing has changed. They've only clarified the rule to correct those who were mistakenly applying the rule as you stated in the red text.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote