Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
If all of the questions are true, start the count and keep counting until one of them is not true (or you reach 10):
1. Is there team control?
2. Does the ball have backcourt status?
The order does not matter.
[/B]
|
I never really thought this to be a big problem - and to me, the rule is quite clear and simple:
NF 9-8:
"A player shall not be, NOR MAY HIS/HER TEAM BE, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."
As Camron stated: Team Control + Ball w/ backcourt status = 10 second count.
During a throw-in, there is no 10-count until team control has been established. So a throw-in tipped by EITHER team does not begin your 10-count, but not until team control is established.
I believe the play described (B1 deflecting ball to A's backcourt), used to be a case-book play years ago. They added to the play by saying when the ball went backcourt,
players from both teams let the ball sit, hesitating to pick it up. The ruling was that a 10-count begins when the ball in team control gains backcourt status. If you reach 10, violation on team A.
dk