Thread: scrimmage kick
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 29, 2010, 05:49pm
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
a scrimmage kick that comes to a complete stop with the receiving team not making an attempt to pick up the ball, can the kicking team just touch the ball to down it without possessing it? would you blow it dead or consider it first touching if the player just touches it? if i can get a rule or page number i would greatly appreciate it.
I can't cite current references, but in all USAn codes those conditions don't even require a touching; the ball is dead if it stops with R making no attempt. Even in Canadian rules now if both K & R are making no attempt on it, it's dead.
Reply With Quote