View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 09:52am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
ASA, Rule 8-8-M: A runner is not out...When hit by a batted ball while in contact with a base, unless the runner intentionally interferes with the ball or a fielder making a play.
This rule is irrelevant... it applies to a runner being struck by a BALL. The OP is interference, plain and simple. The runner has to actively avoid a fielder making a play on a ball. Intent is irrelevant.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote