
Fri Aug 20, 2010, 06:09pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACES Coach
Nobody out, runner on 2nd. R2 has left 2nd base on an infield pop up. In the process of running back to the bag to tag up, she interferes with the defensive player (F4) attempting to catch the ball. R2's foot is in contact with the base when the contact occurs. There was no apparent intent, R2's momentum simply carried her a little past the bag making contact with F4 who was waiting to catch the ball. (FYI, the interference consisted of R2 contacting F4's face with R2's facemask, cutting F4 below the eye).
If a runner is on base and interferes with a defensive player, is she automatically out or is intent required?
What is the call?
1 - No call, contact was incidental, both runner and batter are safe.
2 - R2 is out for interference. Batter is safe at first.
3 - R2 is out for interference and batter is out as R2 could have avoided contact by sliding or diving back to the bag.
Thank you for your input.
|
R2 is out for interference. The rule stipulates that the runner need not abandon a base to allow for a fielder to play a batted ball. In this case, the runner's actions initiated the contact in an area on the opposite side of the base from where the runner was.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|