Thread: Double Dribble
View Single Post
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 03:36pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
To prove my point consider the play in which A1 is behind the 3 pt. line and throws the ball into the lane where it hits B1 in the head and then goes into the basket without ever touching the floor. The correct ruling is that this counts for three points. If your interpretation of 4-4-4 were correct, this would only be two points since the ball would have "hit" the floor when it bounced off B1's head.

[/B][/QUOTE]There's the original quote of Nevadaref's above!

Casebook play 4.40.4SitB states "A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of (a2);or(b1) and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However,since a live ball went through the basket,two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)

It's two points if it hits B1's shoulder,but it's three points if it hits B1's head.

You guys are unbelievable.I don't think that I'm gonna argue this one further.
Reply With Quote