MN
I think you mis-interpret the reason behind the NF case 5.2.1. You seem to believe that this is a non-try that NF is saying is a 3 point goal, then take that case to say that other situations of where a try has ended can also result in a 3 pt goal.
I believe 5.2.1 is intended to eliminate the discussion we had last year about whether an official should be guessing the intention of the player who throws a ball from behind the line and it goes in. I believe that NF is classifying any throw that ends up in the thrower's basket as a try, so if it is thrown from behind the three point line, it is a 3 pt try.
As for a defensive player touching the ball legally after the try is released, this is clearly defined by rule as a try that has not yet ended. The try starts on release and ends only under specific circumstances previously cited in this thread. B tipping the ball on the way up is not one of those specific circumstances. Therefore, the try clearly has not yet ended. The case exists to show that the try is a 3 pt try based on the last place it was touched by A, so that B touching within the arc a try by A that was initiated outside the arc does not alter that 3 pt try to a 2 pt try. whew
If the ball comes below the rim, it has ended. B now touching the ball is not touching a try, but rather touching a loose ball inside the arc. Now if it goes in, it goes in because B initiated an action. But the action B initiated was never a try. A's try ended when the ball came down, and B cannot start a try at his opponent's basket (by rule as well). So here you have no try, but 2 pts to A for B's erroneous tip/bounce.
[Edited by Hawks Coach on Jan 16th, 2003 at 02:19 PM]
|