View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2010, 05:17pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Just so that I'm clear:

If A25 enters the game, but is not in the book, and leaves the game with no one noticing, then A25 does not need to be added (with a penalty of a T) unless he is substituted back into the game.

If A16 is in the game (and in the book) and leaves, then HC of team A can be issued a direct T for the illegal uniform at any point that it is dicovered until the official's jurisdiction ends.


New play (call if play #5): A16 is not listed in the official scorebook and is wearing an illegal uniform. A16 enters the game and the scorer does not notify the official that A16 needs to be entered into the book and none of the officials notice that A16 is wearing an illegal uniform. A16 leaves the game 1 minute later and a)does not return or b) returns in the fourth quarter. In both a) and b), after A16 leaves the game, the situation is brought to the attention of the officials.

Question: In a) Should HC A be issued a T for the illegal uniform when the officials notice that he participated? Does it matter that A16 is not in the book?

In b) Should HC A be issued a T for the illegal uniform when the officials notice that he participated? When A16 attempts to enter the game in the 4th quarter, is A also issued a T for adding the player into the book?
My opinion is to charge two technical fouls at the time that you learn of the infractions. One goes directly to the head coach for allowing A16 to participate with an illegal uniform and the other is a Team tech for requiring the scorer to add a player after the 10-minute mark.

I think that the NFHS play ruling from last year is simply wrong. As the referee one cannot allow a team to play someone not on the roster and get away without penalty simply because the scorer fails to properly notify the crew. General fairness dictates otherwise.
Reply With Quote