Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
The touching of the ball by B1 must be an attempt to block the shot. It does not matter if B1 jumped from the 3pt or 2pt area to attempt the block. The attempt originated by A1 in the 3pt area, therefore, the goal would be 3 pts. Where A1 just releases the ball from anywhere in the 3pt area, and the ball has no chance of going in, the try ends at that point and if, by chance, the ball caroms off B1 into the basket, only two points can be awarded. Read carefully 5-2-1 again.
|
Where does it say legal touching must be an attempt to block a shot??? Isn't legal touching of the ball any touching that does not cause a violation?
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
"A successful try, tap, or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate, or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch line counts as three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. See 4-5-4"
The last sentence is what applies. If B1 taps the ball into A1's basket, it is two points. On a play, that is not a try (or the try is over) only two points can be scored. The try is over when the ball cannot go in on its original flight. IF B1 is beyond team A's 3pt line and scores in A's goal, it is only two points. B1's release is not a try. Any time the ball goes off any team member of B, when the flight is NOT a try, only two points can be scored..
|
If B1 taps the ball into A1 basket on a release from A1 behind the 3 point line it is a three that is the rule change read case 5.2.1C remember it says the ball is thrown this is not a try. The try never started. Rule 5.2.1 differentiates between a tap, try, and a throw. The official cannot determine that a try has ended when it never started. IS an ally-oop throw a pass or a try?? If it goes in the bucket thrown from behind the three point line it is a three. This was obviously not inteded as a try but a pass or (a THROW). See case 5.2.1B
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
So, A1 passes the ball from behind the 3pt line. Ref determines the try is over because based on the arc, the ball cannot go in the goal on its own. B1 deflects the ball while still in flight (and it doesn't matter is B1 is beyond the 3pt line or not - the try is over!) and the ball goes through the hoop: 2 pts...
|
The try never started it is a pass. That is why 5.2.1 differentiates between the two.
A1, behind the 3pt line, attempts a shot. B1 jumps from the 2pt area to block. Ball brushes off the fingertips of B1. Ball goes through the hoop: 3pts - why? because the ref determine the attempt was not over.
[Edited by MN 3 Sport Ref on Jan 16th, 2003 at 01:39 PM]