Thread: Illegal Dribble
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 14, 2010, 09:28pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebasketball View Post
Once again, I’m not an official so please excuse my rules ignorance.

Situation:
Player A1 ends his dribble and holds the ball. The ball is then displaced from his grasp by B1. Player A1 then retrieves the ball before it strikes the court. Player A1 then dribbles a second time.

Happened today in a pickup game, most thought it was an illegal dribble because the ball never touched the floor. Looking at NFHS, NCAA, and NBA rules they all state it is not an illegal dribble if control was lost due to a “touch” (NFHS 9-5-2), a “bat” (NCAA), or “touching” (NBA) by an opponent. So was this a violation or not?

Thanks for the response,
Steve
Steve, look at it this way. When B1 batted the ball out of A1's hands, player control ended. If A1 is able to recover the ball, he has established a "new" player control. It's no different than if he had rebounded it or received a pass. He can dribble again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote