Thread: Double Dribble
View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 11:19am
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
It depends on what the definition of legal is

I went back and re-read this case and still come away with the same impression. I believe that the case 5.2.1 is intended to refer to a defensive deflection of the ball on the way up, while it is still a try on goal. It is to make clear that if a player on B deflects a shot when he is physically located inside the 3 pt arc, the shot is still a 3 pt shot.

I do not believe this case is intended to cover a legal touch by B after the ball has no chance of going in, because you no longer have a try on goal. To put it in other terms related to other rules on shots: there is a try on goal, the ball has passed its peak and is heading downward, comes below the rim and has no chance to go in, and therefore you cannot goal tend by rule. Because the ball has reached a point where it has no chance to go in, the try has ended.

Fire away!!!

Actually, this would be a good case to obtain clarification from NF.
Reply With Quote