Thread: Double Dribble
View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 11:10am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
To prove my point consider the play in which A1 is behind the 3 pt. line and throws the ball into the lane where it hits B1 in the head and then goes into the basket without ever touching the floor. The correct ruling is that this counts for three points. If your interpretation of 4-4-4 were correct, this would only be two points since the ball would have "hit" the floor when it bounced off B1's head.
[/B][/QUOTE]Guys,there is the exact post that we are arguing about. Are both of you telling me that this particular shot didn't end when it hit B1's head while he was standing in the key-i.e.the ball still had a chance to go in and it was above the level of the rim?

The casebook play that you guys are talking about is referring to a defensive player LEGALLY hitting the shot while it is still going up,NOT touching the shot after the try ended because it was below rim level and didn't have a chance to go in.If the defensive player touched it on the way DOWN while it was ABOVE the rim,ya gotta call "goaltending"!Completely different situations with a different rule covering each situation!
Reply With Quote